Yes, but only for Floridians. Marriage license applications are processed on the same day if all prerequisites are completed. A couple who claims hardship may ask a judge to have the three-day waiting period waived. Non-residents are not required to wait. They can get married at a time that is convenient for them.
Non-residents should apply for a license from the Department of Health and Rehabilitative Services. This can be done by mail or in person at a department office. There is a $100 fee for mailing the application and another $100 fee when it is submitted in person. The couple must appear in court within 60 days of issuance of the license or the marriage will be void.
Marriage licenses are effective for 60 days from the date they were issued. During this time, couples can use them in any other state where both parties are licensed to marry.
Once the 60th day has passed, the license becomes invalid. It cannot be renewed nor can it be used in any other state unless the couple goes through the process again. If one party was non-resident, an additional fee would need to be paid.
Florida is one of several states that requires its residents to get married within the state. Otherwise, their marriage would be considered illegal and void ab initio (from the beginning).
Although your marriage license will be granted shortly after you apply, it will not be "effective" for usage for three days, at midnight. The license will include the effective date in bold language. The three-day delay will be waived if any of the following conditions are met: Neither of them is a Floridian. At least one of them is a fugitive from justice. Both of them have an address other than where they live now (for example, if they're both homeless people living out of their cars).
The license is valid for use at any church or licensed minister who can sign it. If you want it to be valid in another state, tell us when you apply for your license.
You must file a claim of marriage with the appropriate probate office within six months of your wedding day to be eligible for any rights or benefits that may come with being married. If you don't, then you'll be declared legally single again.
In most cases, you can get another marriage license as soon as the first one has been used. But there are some exceptions: For example, if you wanted to get married on the same day as your spouse but didn't know about the three-day wait. Or if you wanted to be married somewhere else (such as a beach location) and the place where you got married doesn't allow more than a certain number of weddings to be held there on a given day.
According to Florida law, your marriage license is only valid for 60 days after the effective date and cannot be extended. Please keep this in mind if you haven't yet picked an officiant to marry you. In addition, there is a three (3) day waiting time. So, your wedding must take place by Sunday, Wednesday, or Thursday, depending on which day you apply for the license.
You can apply for more than one license if you want to include others in your ceremony. But, only one of these licenses can be active at a time.
The marriage license is required to be notarized before it can be considered valid. A notary public can be any citizen who has taken a simple test from the Notary Public Authority to verify that they are able to serve in this capacity. If you plan to have your ceremony outside of Florida, it is important to know that most other states require some form of legal recognition of marriages. So, even if you think it's fine what we offer here, make sure you ask about requirements for other states.
In conclusion, a marriage license is valid for 60 days after its effective date. You should pick an officiant early so they can prepare for your wedding during this period.
Three whole days Residents of Florida must wait three days to obtain a license. Residents who can submit documents proving they attended a state-approved marriage preparation course within the previous year, on the other hand, are exempt from the three-day waiting period. The couple can be married on the first day that eligibility is met.
The waiting period was originally established to give couples time to think about where they want to live and how they will make money after they marry. But since most counties in Florida offer alternative arrangements such as premarital counseling or joint planning sessions, many people choose to shorten the waiting time. In fact, surveys show that more than half of all Floridians who get married each year would like to get hitched right away. Others prefer to put off their wedding for a few months or even years while they finish school or go back to work.
Florida is one of only seven states where by law a person cannot be divorced until at least a year has passed since his or her last divorce. This "one-year rule" ensures that people don't take out insurance policies on themselves before they're married and then cancel the plans after they've been married for a month or six weeks. If this were possible in other states, it might cause problems for spouses who had existing medical conditions or disabilities and now have to provide evidence of their status to prevent being denied coverage.
A Florida marriage license may be obtained at any Florida courthouse and is valid for 60 days, allowing you to marry anywhere in Florida. Non-Florida residents can apply in person at their local Florida Clerk of Courts office or use Florida Marriage License Express for assured service. The cost is $60 for nonresidents.
You must be 18 years old to get a marriage license. If you are under 18, your parent or guardian must accompany you to the Clerk of Court's office. The law allows judges to waive this requirement if they believe it is not in the public interest. Judges can also waive other requirements for good cause. For example, a judge can waive the residency requirement for couples from out of state who are planning to move to Florida after they get married.
You can find more information about obtaining a marriage license here: http://www.floridaclerk.org/marriage-license/
The law requires that a marriage license be signed by the clerk or another official designated by the clerk. The license is effective upon signing. A couple cannot be married until they receive notice of the license being granted. This can be done in several ways including through a phone call or email.